CFD Review  
Serving the CFD Community with News, Articles, and Discussion
 
CFD Review

User Preferences
Site Sponsorship
Headline Feeds
Mobile Edition
Privacy Policy
Terms of Service
twitter

Submit a CFD Story

Site Sponsors
CD-adapco
Pointwise: Reliable CFD meshing
ANSYS

Tell a Friend
Help this site to grow by sending a friend an invitation to visit this site.

CFD News by Email
Did you know that you can get today's CFD Review headlines mailed to your inbox? Just log in and select Email Headlines Each Night on your User Preferences page.

 
Best Practices for Forced Convection Simulations
Posted Wed January 16, 2013 @02:12PM
Print version Email story Tweet story
Announcements CD-adapco will host Best Practices for Forced Convection Simulations on January 24, 2013 at multiple times.

This web seminar is the first in a two-part series detailing the simulation of forced convection electronic systems using STAR-CCM+.


Sponsor CFD Review

The most common method for cooling electronics assemblies is best classified as forced convection cooling. The alternative classifications are natural convection (passive) cooling and radiative cooling (such as used in space-based applications). Forced convection cooling typically involves air being moved through a system by a fan, and the air removes the heat from the system via convection.

Best practices for each step in the simulation process will be discussed during the series; Part 1 will address:

  • Air volume definition
  • Appropriate boundary conditions
  • Mesh requirements
  • Treatment of fans
Specific examples will be used to visualize and demonstrate the steps.

This seminar is targeted to those either looking at or already performing thermal simulations of electronics assemblies.

This webinar is free, but registration is required to obtain log-in credentials:

  • 10am (London) 11am (Berlin/Paris) 3:30pm (Bangalore) > Register
  • 10am (Los Angeles) 1pm (New York) > Register

[ Post Comment ]

Diverse Presentations to Highlight Pointwise User Group Meeting | TURBOdesign Suite 5.2 Released  >

 

 
CFD Review Login
User name:

Password:

Create an Account

Related Links
  • Best Practices for Forced Convection Simulations
  • CD-adapco
  • Register
  • More on Announcements
  • 'Best Practices for Forced Convection Simulations' | Login/Create an Account | Search Discussion

    The following comments are owned by whoever posted them.
    We are not responsible for them in any way.

    FORTUNE PROVIDES QUESTIONS FOR THE GREAT ANSWERS: #31 A: Chicken Teriyaki. Q: What is the name of the world's oldest kamikaze pilot? All content except comments
    ©2014, Viable Computing.

    [ home | submit story | search | polls | faq | preferences | privacy | terms of service | rss  ]