CFD Review  
Serving the CFD Community with News, Articles, and Discussion
 
CFD Review

User Preferences
Site Sponsorship
Headline Feeds
Mobile Edition
Privacy Policy
Terms of Service
twitter

Submit a CFD Story

Site Sponsors
CD-adapco
Pointwise: Reliable CFD meshing
ANSYS

Tell a Friend
Help this site to grow by sending a friend an invitation to visit this site.

CFD News by Email
Did you know that you can get today's CFD Review headlines mailed to your inbox? Just log in and select Email Headlines Each Night on your User Preferences page.

 
Business: Fluent to Open Global Operations Hub in India
Posted Mon December 08, 2003 @02:37PM
Print version Email story Tweet story
ANSYS FLUENT The US-based computational fluid dynamics (CFD) company, Fluent Inc, will make India its second hub for global operations.

The company will set up a research & development (R&D) centre in Maharashtra.

The $77 million company, which has been operating in the sub-continent and six other countries through its wholly owned subsidiary Fluent India Pvt Ltd (FIPL), will invest at least Rs 25 crore more during the next one year in its upcoming R&D centre in Pune.

The company had invested Rs 30 crore in India in the last fiscal year. The parent company is now gearing up to go public shortly.

Ferit Boysan, president and chief operating officer of Fluent Inc, said, “We will make India our second major hub next to our headquarters in New Hampshire in the US in the next five years. Our activities in this potential market has gained momentum only very recently and the revenues coming in from our Indian operations are not enough to expand our activities in this important market. So we have decided to keep investing in India through our parent company.”

( Read Full Article | Business )


Help Running CFX-4.4 Case
Posted Mon December 08, 2003 @11:59AM
Print version Email story Tweet story
Help Desk Devin writes "hello to everyone,

I'm a user of CFX-4.4. How can I set the velocity on the "conducting solid". I can't find this option... I simulate a fluid flow into a horizontal channel, and the bottom of the channel is moving (similar to conveyer belt) and heated.

And if I set the velocity on it, is there anything need to be noticed? For example, moving grid, unmatched boundary, unmatched grid, etc.

Thank you for your help~~~
Devin"

( Post Comment )


Help Running Fluent Case
Posted Sat December 06, 2003 @11:53AM
Print version Email story Tweet story
Help Desk I have been running into one problem for the last 2 weeks. I am using Fluent to perform a compressible turbulence flow with time-dependent. I am not be able to do more than 10 time steps. If I did more than that, I would get an error massage. It said, "EOF on stderr". What exactly does it mean? How can I perform a simulation more than 10 time steps? I do not think that my mesh model has something wrong. Can you please give me some advice on this problem?
Best Regards,
Patinya Kayasit
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

( Post Comment )


Propelling the Wright Flyer into the 21st Century
Posted Fri December 05, 2003 @09:27AM
Print version Email story Tweet story
ANSYS FLUENT Fluent Inc., world leaders in commercial computational fluid dynamics (CFD) software, announced today the results from a study that was undertaken as part of the centennial celebration of the first powered flight by Wilbur and Orville Wright in Kitty Hawk, NC. The project has been carried out in association with the Los Angeles Branch of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) to re-evaluate the original 1903 Wright Flyer aircraft with modern technologies not available to the Wright Brothers 100 years ago. The AIAA-LA chapter has built two full-scale replicas of the original Wright Brothers’ aircraft from the Smithsonian blue prints, and plans to fly their newest replica on Dec. 17, the anniversary of the original flight. To contribute to the AIAA-LA’s safety analysis of the replica, Fluent modeled the airflow around the aircraft’s propellers for a range of flight conditions, to reveal some of their aerodynamic secrets.

( Read Full Article )


Application: CFD Shortens Fan Design Time
Posted Thu December 04, 2003 @10:56AM
Print version Email story Tweet story
Application by Chris Robinson and Peter Came,
PCA Engineers, UK

The Flakt Woods Group, a well-known manufacturer of large industrial fans, had to deliver to a major defense organization fans to be used in many different applications with very stringent and widely varying technical specifications and requirements. In order to meet the delivery schedule, they outsourced the design of one of the more challenging fans to PCA Engineers, engineering consultants specializing in turbomachinery design.

The critical requirement was that the fan should have nearly flat operating characteristics, so that delivery pressure does not rise significantly as the volume flow falls. Normally, we would have begun by looking for a similar design that we had done in the past, but we had never produced anything similar to this one.

( Read Full Article | Application )


New Software: Optimal Solutions Launches Optimization Software
Posted Wed December 03, 2003 @08:39AM
Print version Email story Tweet story
News On October 1, 2003, Optimal Solutions Software, L.L.C., officially launched “Sculptor™”, a revolutionary computational fluid dynamics (CFD) shape deformation and design optimization software tool. This major offering to the CFD industry answers the question of how to improve CFD designs—in the most cost-effective, timely manner.

Working synergistically with such CFD analysis codes as Fluent, WIND, StarCD, and NASA’s in-house CFD codes, the Sculptor design tool has assisted the auto industry, defense contractors, Department of Energy sites, and NASA in quickly finding solutions to complex CFD shaping issues.

( Read Full Article | New Software )


 
CFD Review Login
User name:

Password:

Create an Account

CFD Image Gallery
Click for full image

Quick Links
CFD Events | Calendar
CFD Jobs
(4 jobs)
CFD Links

CFD Vendors
AcuSolve
ANSYS
Avizo
AVL Fire
Blue Ridge Numerics
CD-adapco
CEI Software
CPFD Software
Daat Research
ESI Group
Exa
Intelligent Light
Flow Science
Mentor Graphics Mechanical
Metacomp Technologies
Numeca
Pointwise
Simerics
Software Cradle
Tecplot

Features
  • Interview with the Head of CFX Engineering Software Development
  • A Visit Inside CFX Engineering Software
  • Endangered Fish Benefit from CFD
  • Optimization of Marine Components Using CFD
  • A Case for Application-Specific CFD Meshing
  • Are Structured Methods Still The Workhorse?
  • Do GUIs Help or Hurt?
  • How Multigrid Solver Acceleration Works
  • CFD Modeling of an Internal Rotary Pump
  • State of the Art in Grid Generation
  • Older Stuff

    Monday December 01

  • ACUITIV Signs Distribution Agreement With YuriX Visual Simulation (0)
  • Fluent Announces Coupling with Aspen Plus (0)
  • Tuesday November 25

  • Pointwise Announces Special Program for CFX Users (0)
  • A New Tool for Reacting Flow Analysis (0)
  • Sunday November 23

  • AMD Opteron Processor Update (0)
  • Friday November 21

  • CFX Holds Successful German Conference (0)
  • Fluent is Official Supplier to Dale Earnhardt, Inc. (0)
  • Thursday November 20

  • CFD Simulation for Better Fuel Cell Design (0)
  • Monday November 17

  • FLUENT CFD Conference, 2003 for India and South East Asia (0)
  • First CFX South America Users Conference Successful (0)
  • Friday November 07

  • CD adapco e-news Available (0)
  • Private Spaceship Control Problems Fixed (0)

  • Older Articles
    Yesterday's Edition

    Pascal Users: To show respect for the 313th anniversary (tomorrow) of the death of Blaise Pascal, your programs will be run at half speed. All content except comments
    ©2014, Viable Computing.

    [ home | submit story | search | polls | faq | preferences | privacy | terms of service | rss  ]