CFD Review  
Serving the CFD Community with News, Articles, and Discussion
 
CFD Review

User Preferences
Site Sponsorship
Headline Feeds
Mobile Edition
Privacy Policy
Terms of Service
twitter

Submit a CFD Story

Site Sponsors
CD-adapco
Pointwise: Reliable CFD meshing
ANSYS

Tell a Friend
Help this site to grow by sending a friend an invitation to visit this site.

CFD News by Email
Did you know that you can get today's CFD Review headlines mailed to your inbox? Just log in and select Email Headlines Each Night on your User Preferences page.

 
Events: Engineous Offers Online Preview of iSIGHT-FD
Posted Fri December 02, 2005 @12:38PM
Print version Email story Tweet story
Announcements On December 14th and 15th Engineous will offer a free online preview of our newest product, iSIGHT-FD. All of those who attend one of the Web sessions will also be added to a priority list to receive our free 60 day evaluation. Should you choose to buy during the evaluation period – you will also receive a discount on your first year’s software license.

This hour-long online event will illustrate the many benefits of our newest release.

( Read Full Article | Events )


Exa Selects Simmetrix Tools for Fluid Flow Simulation
Posted Fri December 02, 2005 @11:39AM
Print version Email story Tweet story
News Simmetrix Inc., the leading provider of component software for simulation-based design, today announced that Exa® Corporation, developer of PowerFLOW®, a unique approach to fluid flow simulation software for engineers to analyze complex fluid flow problems, has licensed Simmetrix Inc.’s Simulation Modeling Suite to further enhance their use of design geometry.

“Exa Corporation is committed to the success of PowerFLOW, and will continue to offer software solutions that enhance and improve CAE digital design and analysis,” explains Steve Remondi, President and CEO of Exa. ”The addition of the Simulation Modeling Suite from Simmetrix Inc. will allow our customers to take better advantage of the unique analysis capabilities offered by PowerFLOW.”

( Read Full Article )


Events: Fluent and Optimum Power Host Engine Simulation Seminar
Posted Fri December 02, 2005 @11:12AM
Print version Email story Tweet story
Announcements Please join Fluent Inc. and Optimum Power for this special event to learn of the updates in modeling capabilities for our respective software products.

Date: Friday December 9, 2005
Time: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Location:The brand new office of Fluent Inc.
3005 Boardwalk, Ste. 100
Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Confirming your seat is easy! To register contact Julie Welch by email at jmw@fluent.com or by phone at 734-213-6821 ext. 0 and let her know you will be attending. Space is limited so please register soon.

( Read Full Article | Events )


New Software: CD-adapco Announces Release of STAR-CAD Series V4.02
Posted Thu December 01, 2005 @02:49PM
Print version Email story Tweet story
CD-adapco CD-adapco announces the release of STAR-CAD Series V4.02, the most powerful upfront flow and thermal simulation tool, embedded inside the major 3D-CAD packages.

This new version of the STAR-CAD Series for the Windows 32-bit platform includes: STAR-CAT5 for CATIA V5, STAR-Pro/E for Pro/ENGINEER Wildfire, STAR-NX for NX and STAR-Works for SolidWorks.

Upfront simulation is a competitive necessity today, to confirm design assumptions and predict product performance early in the product design process.

( Read Full Article | New Software )


Education: F1 in Schools Program Features CFD
Posted Thu December 01, 2005 @10:42AM
Print version Email story Tweet story
News The F1 in Schools initiative was set up in 2000 as a way of raising the profile of engineering as a career option and assisting the teaching of the subject in schools and colleges.

However, according to this article, rather than being a simple exercise, the 11-18 year old kids use state-of-the-art software programs that enable them to play around with CAD (computer aided design) and CFD (computational fluid dynamics), just like real F1 designers.

( Read Full Article | Education )


Static Bed Height in a Fluidized Bed
Posted Tue November 29, 2005 @09:42AM
Print version Email story Tweet story
Help Desk Monty writes "Hi Everybody. Monty here.

It would be wonderful if someone could tell me how I can specify static bed height in a fluidized bed using STAR-CD. For instance, my static bed height is 0.1m in a bed 1m high.

I believe that I have to specify volume fraction of the solid particles as 10% (0.1) i.e. 0.1m/1.0m and also multiply the solid particle packing porosity by this 10%. Is my perspective right or is there another way to specify static bed height in the fluidized bed?"

( Post Comment )


 
CFD Review Login
User name:

Password:

Create an Account

CFD Image Gallery
Click for full image

Quick Links
CFD Events | Calendar
CFD Jobs
(5 jobs)
CFD Links

CFD Vendors
AcuSolve
ANSYS
Avizo
AVL Fire
Blue Ridge Numerics
CD-adapco
CEI Software
CPFD Software
Daat Research
ESI Group
Exa
Intelligent Light
Flow Science
Mentor Graphics Mechanical
Metacomp Technologies
Numeca
Pointwise
Simerics
Software Cradle
Tecplot

Features
  • Interview with the Head of CFX Engineering Software Development
  • A Visit Inside CFX Engineering Software
  • Endangered Fish Benefit from CFD
  • Optimization of Marine Components Using CFD
  • A Case for Application-Specific CFD Meshing
  • Are Structured Methods Still The Workhorse?
  • Do GUIs Help or Hurt?
  • How Multigrid Solver Acceleration Works
  • CFD Modeling of an Internal Rotary Pump
  • State of the Art in Grid Generation
  • Older Stuff

    Tuesday November 29

  • CD-adapco Selects Industry Veteran to Pilot Aerospace & Defense Business (0)
  • Monday November 28

  • 44th AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting and Exhibit (0)
  • CD-adapco and Alberta Research Council Host Seminars (0)
  • Tuesday November 22

  • Fluent's Benelux User Group Meeting Triples in Size (0)
  • Monday November 21

  • First Pratical CFD Seminar in Portugal (0)
  • Fluent Awarded Grant for CFD Modeling of High Speed Sealift Ships (0)
  • Thursday November 17

  • CEI's EnSight DR Brings Parallel Graphics to the Desktop (0)
  • PCB Thermal Design as East as 1, 2, Done (0)
  • Tuesday November 15

  • The Online Computational Fluid Mixing Book (0)
  • Monday November 14

  • Two-Phase Modeling Using PHOENICS (0)
  • CD-adapco Affirms Leadership in High-Performance CFD at Supercomputing 2005 (0)
  • AxSTREAM Version 1.7.02 Released (0)

  • Older Articles
    Yesterday's Edition

    We have phasers, I vote we blast 'em! -- Bailey, "The Corbomite Maneuver", stardate 1514.2 All content except comments
    ©2014, Viable Computing.

    [ home | submit story | search | polls | faq | preferences | privacy | terms of service | rss  ]